You are here
Home > 01 FEATURED > College Softball – 2020 Big Ten/ACC Softball Challenge Matchups Set

College Softball – 2020 Big Ten/ACC Softball Challenge Matchups Set

Sports View America is your source for college sports …

Article by Big Ten Athletics …

Fifth annual event will be expanded to include 10 schools from each conference

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten and Atlantic Coast conferences announced Tuesday the matchups for the 2020 Big Ten/ACC Softball Challenge. The fifth annual event will take place Feb. 14-16, 2020, and has been expanded to feature 10 schools from each conference, with each program playing four games each at five campus sites.

In addition, two schools from each conference will compete in the second annual ESPN St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational in Clearwater, Fla., from Feb. 13-16, 2020. Minnesota, which advanced to the 2019 NCAA Women’s College World Series, will be joined by 2019 NCAA regional champion Northwestern in representing the Big Ten at this year’s ESPN St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational, while Florida State and Virginia Tech will take part on behalf of the ACC. The head-to-head results between Big Ten and ACC schools at that event will count towards the final Big Ten/ACC Softball Challenge standings.

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, Rutgers and Wisconsin will be the Big Ten softball programs competing in the Big Ten/ACC Softball Challenge. Five ACC schools will serve as the host sites for this year’s Challenge — Clemson, Duke, Georgia Tech, North Carolina and NC State — with the other ACC participants being Boston College, Louisville, Notre Dame, Pitt and Syracuse.

The Big Ten and ACC have each won twice during the first four years of the Challenge. The Big Ten came away victorious in both 2016 and 2019, earning last year’s crown by a 23-13 count. Illinois, Indiana, Nebraska and Wisconsin all went 4-0 to lead the Big Ten effort in the 2019 Challenge.

The Big Ten and ACC offices collaborate to determine the schedule each season. In addition, the official title of the Challenge rotates each year. The 2020 event will be referred to as the Big Ten/ACC Softball Challenge and will continue to mirror the official title of the conferences’ Challenge agreements for men’s basketball, women’s basketball and volleyball.

Exact game dates and times, as well as television and online coverage, will be announced at a later date. The 2020 Big Ten/ACC Softball Challenge participants and site assignments can be found below.

2020 Big Ten/ACC Softball Challenge

(all games to be played Feb. 14-16, 2020 except where noted)

At Clearwater, Fla. (ESPN St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational – to be played Feb. 13-16, 2020)

(results between Big Ten and ACC schools will count towards Challenge standings)

Big Ten – Minnesota, Northwestern

ACC – Florida State, Virginia Tech

At Chapel Hill, N.C. (host – North Carolina)

Big Ten – Michigan, Wisconsin

ACC – Louisville, North Carolina

At Raleigh, N.C. (host – NC State)

Big Ten – Illinois, Ohio State

ACC – NC State, Notre Dame

At Durham, N.C. (host – Duke)

Big Ten – Indiana, Rutgers

ACC – Duke, Syracuse

At Atlanta, Ga. (host – Georgia Tech)

Big Ten – Iowa, Nebraska

ACC – Boston College, Georgia Tech

At Clemson, S.C. (host – Clemson)

Big Ten – Maryland, Michigan State

ACC – Clemson, Pitt

Leave a Reply