4th annual award to be handed out Saturday
     The Bluegrass Sports Commission today announced that it will once again award the MVP trophy to a deserving student-athlete in the upcoming men’s basketball game between the University of Kentucky and the University of Louisville.
     Saturday will mark the 4th year of the award, presented annually to the student-athlete that most stands

2012 Winner Russ Smith

out in the celebrated rivalry game.

     “The UK/Louisville game is one of the greatest atmosphere’s in all of sports,” stated Terry Johnson, Executive Director of the Bluegrass Sports Commission. “We are excited to honor an individual that rises to the occasion when the whole country has its eyes on the Commonwealth.”
Previous winners of the award, include:
  • Josh Harrellson (UK, 2010)
  • Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (UK, 2011)
  • Russ Smith (UofL, 2012)

Leave a Reply