Bearcats Picked to Finish Fifth
CINCINNATI – University of Cincinnati volleyball senior Emma Roberson was a unanimous selection to the Preseason All-American Athletic Conference Team as announced by the league on Monday afternoon.
Bearcat LogoRoberson (Brooks, Ky./Evansville) was one of only four players unanimously chosen to the 12-player all-conference team. The vote was conducted by the 11 head coaches in the conference, with coaches barred from voting for their own players or team.
The selection comes a season after Roberson was named Second Team All-Conference at the conclusion of her junior year. In 2014, she led the Bearcats with 415 kills and a 3.35 kills/set ratio, becoming the first UC player to record at least 400 kills since the 2012 season.
In addition to the preseason all-conference list, the American released its annual Coaches’ Preseason poll, ranking the Bearcats fifth out of 11 teams with 56 points
UCF was selected first in the poll with 94 points while SMU’s Avery Acker was selected as the American’s Preseason Player of the Year.
Cincinnati will open the 2015 season by hosting the second-annual Queen City Classic in Fifth Third Arena on Aug. 28 and 29. The Bearcats will face Eastern Michigan at 7 p.m. on Friday before matching up with Northern Kentucky at Noon and Xavier at 6 p.m. on Saturday.
Admission to all UC volleyball matches this season is complimentary as part of the Experience UC program.
Preseason poll: (First-place votes in parentheses)
Team                                     Points

  1. UCF (7)                            94
  2. SMU (3)                           91
  3. Temple (1)                     84
  4. Tulsa                          75
  5. Cincinnati                     56
  6. Memphis                        51
  7. USF                            48
  8. UConn                          41
  9. East Carolina                  22

Tulane                              22

  1. Houston                        21

Preseason Player of the Year:
Avery Acker, SMU
Preseason Team:
Kia Bright, UCF*
Jale Hervey, UCF*
Emma Roberson, Cincinnati*
Immanuella Anagu, UConn
Avery Acker, SMU
Janelle Giordano, SMU
Morgan Heise, SMU
Tyler Davis, Temple
Kirsten Overton, Temple
Dara Peric, Temple
Sandra Sydlik, Temple
Erica Bohannon, Tulsa*
(Unanimous selections denoted with an asterisk)

Leave a Reply