sec teamsBirmingham, Ala. – South Carolina was predicted to win the 2016 Southeastern Conference women’s basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members.
The Gamecocks are coming off the first NCAA Final Four appearance in program history, posting a school-record 34 wins last season and falling just one point shy of a spot in the national championship game. They return their top three scorers and top two rebounders from last season in senior Tiffany Mitchell, junior Alaina Coates and sophomore A’ja Wilson. The Gamecocks’ top two 3-point shooters are back (Mitchell, Tina Roy) as are their top two assist producers (Mitchell, Khadijah Sessions) and top two shot blockers (Wilson, Coates).
South Carolina tops the order of finish with 265 points, with Tennessee (248), Mississippi State (215), Texas A&M (207), Kentucky (205), Ole Miss (169), and Missouri (165) rounding out the top half the league.  Arkansas (138), Georgia (128), LSU (128), Vanderbilt (80), Florida (78), Auburn (65) and Alabama (34) round out the bottom half.
South Carolina’s Tiffany Mitchell was the overwhelming choice for SEC Women’s Basketball Player of the Year with 11 votes, Mitchell’s teammates A’ja Wilson and Alaina Coates also received votes, as did Tennessee’s newcomer Diamond DeShields.
Joining Mitchell, Wilson, Coates and DeShields on the All-SEC Team are Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State and Makayla Epps, Kentucky. A tie pushed the team to six members this year.
Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis.  Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team and the Preseason SEC Player of the Year.
The SEC Women’s Basketball Coaches Poll will be released the Wednesday prior to the season.
Preseason Media Poll
SEC Champion
South Carolina
Order of Finish

  1. South Carolina                       265
  2. Tennessee                              248
  3. Mississippi State                   215
  4. Texas A&M                             207
  5. Kentucky                                205
  6. Ole Miss                                169
  7. Missouri                                165
  8. Arkansas                                138

T9. Georgia                                  128
T9. LSU                                          128

  1. Vanderbilt                               80
  2. Florida                                78
  3. Auburn                                65
  4. Alabama                                34

Player of the Year
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Preseason All-SEC
Makayla Epps, Kentucky
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
A’ja Wilson, South Carolina
Diamond DeShields, Tennessee