OhioStateLogoCOLUMBUS, Ohio – Ohio State head coach Urban Meyer is the holder of a number of “firsts” in the history of Football Bowl Subdivision coaches, including first to win national championships in two conferences and first in winning percentage (.853) among current coaches with at least 10 years of head coaching experience.
Saturday evening in Ohio Stadium he reached another historic first: Ohio State’s 28-14 victory the Minnesota Golden Gophers represented Meyer’s 47th win in this, his 50th game as Ohio State’s coach. There has never been another coach from an FBS school to lead a team to 47 victories in his first 50 games as coach.
Best 50-Game Starts at FBS School

  1. 47-3-0 – Urban Meyer, Ohio State (2012-15)
  2. 46-4-0 – Chris Petersen, Boise State (2006-09)

46-4-0   – Dennis Erickson, Miami (1989-92)

  1. 45-2-3 – Robert Neyland, Tennessee (1926-31)

45-3-2   – Barry Switzer, Oklahoma (1973-77)

  1. 44-3-3 – Knute Rockne, Notre Dame (1918-23)

44-6-0 – Dan Hawkins, Boise State (2001-04)
44-6-0 – Larry Coker, Miami (2001-04)
44-6-0   – Bob Devaney, Nebraska (1962-66)

  1. 43-6-1 – John Robinson, USC (1976-80)

43-6-1 – Bud Wilkinson, Oklahoma (1947-51)
Meyer’s 13-plus year head coaching record is now 151-26. That record includes a 29-0 record in Big Ten Conference games which is a consecutive wins streak that ties the current conference landscape mark of 29 consecutive wins in the Atlantic Coast Conference by Florida State from 1992-95.
Here are a few more Meyer marks:

  • He is one of only two coaches to win national titles at two different schools;
  • He is the first coach in modern history (since 1937) to win at least 13 games consecutively, three times and four times; and
  • He is the only coach to win at least 20 consecutive games four times (no other Division I or FBS coach has had even three 20-game winning streaks).

Meyer and the Buckeyes will be seeking their 23rd consecutive victory and 17th consecutive road victory – both streaks are the longest in the nation – next Saturday in a noon game (EST) against the Illinois Fighting Illini. ABC will televise the game nationally.