Purdue Alumni – Photo by Purdue Athletics

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – The Black team, coached by legendary Gene Keady, started fast and ended fast to defeat the Gold squad 101-91 in front of approximately 3,000 fans at Mackey Arena on Saturday.

Led early by the shooting of Ryne Smith (2012), the Black team sprinted out to a 22-7 lead just six minutes into the game, en route to a 49-43 halftime lead. Smith tallied 13 points in the opening half, which featured a 3-pointer and several drives to the hoop.

Gold continued to chip away, taking a 62-60 lead with about 12 minutes to play, but the Black squad, led by Willie Deane (2003) and JaJuan Johnson (2011) went on a 10-0 run to take control. The lead swelled to 88-75 before a furious Gold rally cut the margin to 96-91 with a minute left, before Black scored the final five points for the 101-91 victory.

Deane was named MVP after flirting with a triple-double, tallying 13 points with an Alumni-Game record nine assists and eight rebounds. Johnson led the Black squad with 22 points, and John Hart (2012) added 21 points with five trifectas. Ryne Smith finished with 15 points while D.J. Byrd (2013) recorded a double-double with 10 points, an Alumni-Game record 13 rebounds and three assists.

David Teague (2007) paced the Gold team with 17 points while Robbie Hummel (2012) scored 16 points with 11 rebounds and three assists. Rodney Smith (2002) scored 16 points with eight rebounds. Bobby Riddell (2009) chipped in with 11 points on three 3-pointers.

Nearly 60 former players, ranging from the Class of 1950 to 2015, were at Mackey Arena for today’s game and alumni weekend festivities.

BLACK TEAM STATS (Pts.-Rebs.-Asts.)

JaJuan Johnson (22-3-1) , John Hart (21-3-1), Ryne Smith (15-3-0), Willie Deane (13-8-9), D.J. Byrd (10-13-3), Brandon Brantley (8-3-0), Mark Wohlford (6-4-1), Todd Mitchell (3-0-0), Neal Beshears (2-4-1), Matt Waddell (0-3-1), Brian Cardinal (0-2-3), Tim Ervin (0-1-2), Tony Rhem (0-1-0).

GOLD TEAM STATS (Pts.-Rebs.-Asts.)

David Teague (17-1-1), Robbie Hummel (16-11-3), Rodney Smith (16-8-1), Bobby Riddell (11-2-2), Travis Carroll (7-3-3), Roy Hairston (4-4-2), Justin Jennings (4-2-3), Darmetries Kilgore (4-1-0), Matt Kiefer (4-0-0), Ryan Berning (3-5-2), Maynard Lewis (3-3-0), Dru Anthrop (2-2-3), Frank Kendrick (0-4-1).

Leave a Reply