Birmingham, Ala. – Mississippi State was predicted to win the 2019 Southeastern Conference women’s basketball championship in a vote of the league’s coaches.

The Bulldogs enter the 2018-19 campaign as the reigning SEC regular-season champion.  MSU returns one starter in senior Teaira McCowan and seven letterwinners, including seniors Jordan Danberry and Jazzmun Holmes. Head coach Vic Schaefer also adds graduate transfer Anriel Howard.

Mississippi State tops the order of finish, with South Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee, Missouri, Texas A&M and Kentucky rounding out the top half the league. Auburn, LSU, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Vanderbilt and Ole Miss round out the bottom half.

Mississippi State’s McCowan was voted as SEC Women’s Basketball Preseason Player of the Year. Missouri’s Sophie Cunningham and Georgia’s Caliya Robinson also received votes.

Joining McCowan, Cunningham and Robinson on the All-SEC Preseason First Team are Maci Morris, Kentucky; Anriel Howard, Mississippi State; Tyasha Harris, South Carolina; Rennia Davis, Tennessee and Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M.

The Preseason Second Team All-SEC is comprised of Malica Monk, Arkansas; Janiah McKay, Auburn; Unique Thompson, Auburn; Taylor Murray, Kentucky; Ayana Mitchell, LSU; Shandricka Sessom, Ole Miss; Amber Smith, Missouri; Alexis Jennings, South Carolina and Evina Westbrook, Tennessee.

 Coaches cannot vote for their own team or players and ties are not broken, which led to a nine on the second team.

 The 2019 season officially tips on Tuesday, November 6.

Preseason Coaches’ Predictions

Order of Finish

1. Mississippi State

2. South Carolina

3. Georgia

4. Tennessee

5. Missouri

6. Texas A&M

7. Kentucky

8. Auburn

9. LSU

10. Alabama

11. Arkansas

12. Florida

13. Vanderbilt

14. Ole Miss           

Player of the Year

Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

First Team All-SEC

Caliya Robinson, Georgia

Maci Morris, Kentucky

Anriel Howard, Mississippi State

Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina

Rennia Davis, Tennessee

Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M


Second Team All-SEC

Malica Monk, Arkansas

Janiah McKay, Auburn

Unique Thompson, Auburn

Taylor Murray, Kentucky

Ayana Mitchell, LSU

Shandricka Sessom, Ole Miss

Amber Smith, Missouri

Alexis Jennings, South Carolina

Evina Westbrook, Tennessee

Leave a Reply