SVA is your Sports Leader & Source for PRO Sports …
Content by National Football League – SPORTS VIEW AMERICA
Please check us out on TWITTER …
Check us out on INSTAGRAM … 
All Sports Photo Gallery at SVAPHOTOS

Franchise and transition player designations were announced today for the 2021 NFL free agency signing period, which begins at 4:00 p.m. ET on Wednesday, March 17. 

A club can designate one “franchise” player or one “transition” player among its veteran free agents.    

The salary offer by a player’s club determines whether the franchise player designation is exclusive or non-exclusive

An “exclusive” franchise player – not free to sign with another club – is offered the greater of (i) the average of the top five salaries at the player’s position for the current year as of the end of the restricted free agent signing period on April 23; or (ii) the amount of the required tender for a “non-exclusive” franchise player, as explained below.

Article 10, Section 2(a)(i) of the CBA sets forth the methodology, known as the “Cap Percentage Average,” for calculating the required tender for such a player:

The Nonexclusive Franchise Tender shall be a one year NFL Player Contract for (A) the average of the five largest Prior Year Salaries for players at the position . . . at which the Franchise Player participated in the most plays during the prior League Year, which average shall be calculated by: (1) summing the amounts of the Franchise Tags for players at that position for the five preceding League Years; (2) dividing the resulting amount by the sum of the Salary Caps for the five preceding League Years . . . ; and (3) multiplying the resulting percentage by the Salary Cap for the upcoming League Year . . . (the “Cap Percentage Average”) . . . ; or (B) 120% of his Prior Year Salary, whichever is greater . . . .


If a club extends a required tender to a non-exclusive franchise player pursuant to this section, the player shall be permitted to negotiate a player contract with any club, except that draft choice compensation of two firstround draft selections shall be made in the event he signs with a new club.

The signing period for franchise players begins at 4:00 p.m. (ET) on March 17 and ends on the Tuesday following the 10th week of the season.

This year, one player (Dak Prescott, Dallas) was designated as an exclusive franchise player. Nine players were designated as non-exclusive franchise players.





Carolina Panthers

Taylor Moton


Chicago Bears

Allen Robinson


Dallas Cowboys

Dak Prescott*


Denver Broncos

Justin Simmons


Jacksonville Jaguars

Cam Robinson


New Orleans Saints

Marcus Williams


New York Giants

Leonard Williams


New York Jets

Marcus Maye


Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Chris Godwin


Washington Football Team

Brandon Scherff


*Denotes Exclusive Franchise Player

transition player is offered the greater of (i) the average of the top 10 prior year salaries at the player’s position, which average is calculated using the same methodology used for non-exclusive franchise players (the Cap Percentage Average); or (ii) 120% of his prior year salary.

If a club extends a required tender to a transition player, the player shall be permitted to negotiate a contract with any club subject to his prior club’s right of first refusal, except that no draft choice compensation shall be made with respect to such player if his prior club declines to exercise its right of first refusal.

The signing period for transition players begins at 4:00 p.m. (ET) on March 17 and ends on July 22.  After July 22 and until 4:00p.m. (ET) on the Tuesday following the 10th week of the season, the prior club has exclusive negotiating rights.

This year, no player was designated as a transition player.

Leave a Reply