SPORTS VIEW AMERICA – Your Top Sports Source …
Please check us out on TWITTERINSTAGRAM, & FACEBOOK …
Thousands of Sports Photos located at SVA PHOTOS … 

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced the 20 watch-list candidates for the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award Wednesday afternoon, with Duke senior Elizabeth Balogun earning a nod to the preseason list for the third consecutive season.  

Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year and Class of 1995 Hall of Famer, the annual award in its sixth year recognizes the top small forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

During the 2021-22 season, Balogun saw action in 30 games with 24 starts for the Blue Devils, averaging 8.3 points and 4.4 rebounds per contest. Balogun scored in double figures nine times during the year, including back-to-back games of 20-plus points that featured a 27-point outburst to help lead Duke to a 72-70 victory over No. 17 Notre Dame.

Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds starting Friday, October 21. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award will be presented on a date to be determined, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard), Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (Shooting Guard), Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center), in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

For more information on the 2023 Cheryl Miller Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophall and #MillerAward on Twitter and Instagram.

To stay up to date with Duke women’s basketball, follow the team on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook by searching “DukeWBB.”


 2023 Cheryl Miller Award Candidates

Aijha Blackwell                  Baylor

Elizabeth Balogun            Duke

Jordyn Merritt                   Florida

Grace Berger                      Indiana

Ashley Joens                      Iowa State

Morgan Jones                    Louisville

Shyanne Sellers                Maryland

Mimi Collins                        NC State

Skyler Gill                             North Alabama

Alyssa Ustby                       North Carolina

Madi Williams                    Oklahoma

Lior Garzon                         Oklahoma State

Brea Beal                             South Carolina

Myah Selland                     South Dakota State

Haley Jones                        Stanford

Rickea Jackson                  Tennessee

Shay Holle                           Texas

Caroline Ducharme         UConn

Gianna Kneepkens          Utah

Taylor Soule                       Virginia Tech

Leave a Reply